CRAZY WISDOM AND DIVINE MADNESS: The Madness Domain for 5th Edition Dungeons & Dragons

PATHFINDER MADNESS DOMAIN IN 5E DUNGEONS & DRAGONS 

Thanks to the prominent role that a cleric plays in the Pathfinder Adventure Path #85: Fires of Creation (Iron Gods 1 of 6), it seems like I will need a Madness Domain for my 5E conversion of Iron Gods. As such, I present the following for your review and enjoyment.

Cleric-of-Madness-by-Mitch-Cotie

MADNESS DOMAIN 

This domain functions the same as the divine domains listed on pages 59 to 63 of the Player’s Handbook, but, as with the Death Domain in the Dungeon Master’s Handbook, this domain may be best reserved for evil NPCs (such as the worshippers of the Iron Gods).

MADNESS DOMAIN SPELLS
Cleric Level Spells
1 dissonant whispers, tasha’s hideous laughter
3 crown of madness, ray of enfeeblement
5 fear, hypnotic pattern
7 confusion, hallucinatory terrain
9 dream, mislead

TOUCH OF MADNESS
At 1st level, you gain the vicious mockery cantrip, which doesn’t count towards your total number of cantrips known.

MADNESS AURA
Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to project an aura that unsettles the minds of others. When you activate this ability, all enemies within 30 feet of you must make a Charisma saving throw or suffer the effects of the confusion spell until the start of your next turn. 

GASLIGHT INFLUENCE
At 6th level, you can use your Channel Divinity to cast the enthrall spell.

MINDSHATTERING STRIKE
At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon strikes with maddening power. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 psychic to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

BREAKER OF MINDS
Starting at 17th level, you can cast the confusion spell to affect a single target at will as an action.

DUNGEON MUSER’S NOTES
I mostly pieced this conversion together with abilities taken from other domains and class abilities. For the abilities not stolen…err…I mean, repurposed from other classes/domains, I tried to find abilities that matched the spell levels of abilities from comparable levels.

RESOURCEFUL RESKINNING
This domain could also be used to represent a Mind or Thought Domain, with the names of the abilities changed to something more appropriate (like “Ego Whip” for Touch of Madness and “Mind Blast” for Madness Aura, etc…).

THE GODS OF MADNESS ARE NOW LISTENING
With this conversion together, I have only one more set of things to convert before I can turn my attention to the primary antagonist of Fires of Creation.

Perhaps, I should turn my attention to some of the high tech items encountered in the Iron Gods Adventure Path next…

Until next time, I remain;

  • THE DUNGEON MUSER
CRAZY WISDOM AND DIVINE MADNESS: The Madness Domain for 5th Edition Dungeons & Dragons

4 thoughts on “CRAZY WISDOM AND DIVINE MADNESS: The Madness Domain for 5th Edition Dungeons & Dragons

    1. Thanks Joe!
      Not only do I support the use of a Heath Ledger Joker voice, I believe I will be doing the same when I inflict this on my players (at which point I can say “You wanna know how I got the idea for this voice?”). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi . I’m Adept domain with Nature and what’s called SRD Executive . What I’m “mad” at is called . . Aasimar odor casting of minor Urban cantrip . Second level spells at Druid~Bard is called Adept . It’s the crowdwalking spell of ‘reminding the person of urban setting what the magical “personality” of background : Sage means to clerical domain of order or sphere of the philosophy of Life (evil)’ .*. too much info . Thanks for allowing this . Peace eberis

    Like

Leave a Reply

